Keeping Up With the Castillo's

Newlywed NINE

Your first year in college we all gain the Freshman fifteen, one way or another! I know I did my first year at Sac State from all the food, [underage] drinking & all nighter snacking. The Freshman Fifteen has a sister and its called the Newlywed Nine. It’s given when you first get into a relationship, we gain weight because we’re happy! However, when that ring goes on your finger, a light switch gets flipped and your brain is now on wedding mode aka i need to lose weight to look damn good in my dress. After all the months (or years) of getting fit, eating healthy, and working on that wedding & honeymoon body, it all goes down the DRAIN at the wedding reception.

Since Erick & I have walked down the aisle and said our “I Do’s”, we have been stuffing our face with everything and anything in sight! It definitely didn’t help that our our hotel in Cancun was all inclusive aka free drinks and food with 24 hour room service. Even our adventures in Cancun came with a free lunch buffet each day.

Since our honeymoon, we have been trying to settle down back into our everyday routine. Cooking, cleaning, and working out/running… you know, the whole works! It has been a struggle for us to get back into our routine. Our house is forever messy, dirty dishes in the sink, and clothes piling up in the laundry room, hampers, & and Erielle’s room (clean clothes that needs to be folded and put away). We haven’t found time to go grocery shopping or even cook dinner, so we result in going out to eat. When we eat out, we order more food than we should, yet we eat it all, along with an alcoholic drink or two. Even though I’m dreading the Newlywed Nine, I am embracing the fact that I am married with an amazing husband & we LOVE eating. We may gain a few more pounds here and there… but when that time as our lives finally settle down from the craziness, we will get back into our healthy weight & fit life.

Don’t get me wrong, I am very secure with the way my body looks [naked or clothed] when I am around Erick, but when I personally start to feel insecure with the way my body is looking, I become very unhappy and lightweight depressed. So I try my best to take care of my body, and myself emotionally & physically. I have yet to gain the Newlywed Nine, but I am just five pounds shy of hitting nine pounds gained since our wedding on January 30th.
Whether you are single, taken, long term relationship, engaged, newlywed, or married, I believe its important to take care of yourself, first and foremost for our self being and its nice when your boyfriend/fiance/husband or wife feed off your energy. You can’t be happy in a relationship if you’re not happy with yourself. Trust me, i have been there. We feel better, look better, and are happier when we take care of ourselves.
As long as your happy, it is all that matters.

Happy wifey. Happy huzby. Happy life 🙂
xo, mrs. jCas

Leave a Reply

